Who Run the World? “Girls” Unfortunately

Source: Tumblr.com

Maybe I’m a little bitter that HBO prematurely ended the t-shirt making adventures of Cam and that other tall white guy who played the main character on How to Make it in America.  Ok, I’m pissed. But that doesn’t change the fact that no matter how hard I try (and I’ve tried at least three times) I just can’t seem to get into “Girls”.

I didn’t want to express my thoughts about the HBO hit until I tried for a third time to sit down and take an objective look at what according to the Hollywood Reporter was “raw and inspiring” about what I assumed was a recycled Sex and the City.  Because, let’s be honest.  That’s all HBO has ever really wanted: the reincarnation of Samantha, Carrie, Charlotte and the other chick with the red hair.  So I set my DVR to turn to the first episode that would air on one of the many HBO’s on my preview guide and tuned in for “Bad Friend”.

So for those of you who have managed to avoid the hipster influenza that is all of the fuss over the genius that apparently is Lena Dunham, I’ll provide you with a quick breakdown.  Basically the whole episode focused on Hannah’s adventures experimenting with coke, a story idea suggested by an editor as a challenge to step out of her comfort zone.   Her and roommate Elijah in all of their glowsticked glory find themselves snorting coke off of a toilet seat at a rave when he reveals he slept with friend Marnie.  Apparently this is a problem because him and Hannah used to date I’m assuming (and all this time I thought he was gay).  Well it completely shatters Hannah’s high before she returns home to cuss out Marnie and annoint her a “bad friend” and then sleep with ex-junkie neighbor, Laird.  Meanwhile Marnie’s life includes being locked up in a weird TV lined closet thingy with videos of babies crying and maggots courtesy of an artist who she ends up boning but-naked in a doggy-style starfish position while he asks her to describe a creepy doll that’s tied to the bedpost.  These people are complete fucking weirdos.  And after all of that the one scene that stood out to me was when Hannah is dancing with a fellow raver and they trade shirts on the dance floor leaving him a floral tank top and her in a mesh yellow tank with her nipples on full display.  It was funny because we all have all seen someone in the club who ends up far past a good time and straight into short yellow bus territory.

Leave a Reply

