J. Cole Ain’t Worth Losing My Life: A Guide to Scoring Epic Concert Tickets and Surviving to Tweet About it

Psychologists say people report feeling happier when they spend their money on experiences rather than objects.  One of the most important goals on my 2013 vision board was to spend my money on experiences like concerts and traveling over wedge sneakers, skater dresses or Sephora lip glosses. I must say I’m reaching that goal with flying Crayola colors. I like to travel and I love music so it was relatively easy.  I got a passport and logged onto Ticketmaster and since the summer began I’ve scored tickets to Drake’s OVOFest in Toronto (some damn good seats if I must say so myself), got bitten by mosquitoes and chased by angry deer partying with my friends in the “naked woods” on Fire Island, almost lost my life twice trying to see J. Cole and scored tickets for Drake in Vegas. 2013 will be passports and airplanes, memories that will last my friends and I a lifetime and hopefully my first groupie experience with Drake or J. Cole that results in a future misogynistic song lyric inspired by me.  I’m just kidding…sort of.

With all this concert planning I’ve picked up on a few things.  Unless the planets are aligned, the pre-sale Gods are smiling on you and the weather holds out, a summer concert can go from this:

To this:

Having a good time requires some pretty strategic planning especially if you’re the kind of person who feels the need to shower in anti-bacterial gel if you even look at a picture of Woodstock.  I’ve learned a few lessons about how to have a good time at your next concert without walking away with an arrest record or a missing limb.  Here are a few things you’ll need:

Leave a Reply

