20-Somethings Suck at Safe Sex, But We Can Fix That

 

I don’t usually re-blog, OK in fact this is probably a first for me. But there’s an inner sex-ed geek in me that loves being called “The Condom Lady”, the look on seventh-graders’ faces when they first see a picture of a genital wart, Guttenmacher statistics, or checking out the latest “Survey Says” Infographics from the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy.

What I’m discovering more and more during my 9-5 working with teens is that many of my students could actually teach my peers a thing or two about safe sex and high-risk behaviors. I’ve had twenty-somethings tell me that you can’t get herpes through oral sex, that women urinate and have sex in the same hole and that you absolutely can get HIV from kissing. I don’t blame them. It’s not our fault, we’re just products of a time when the most Zack and Kelly did was French kiss in the back of the school on a very special episode of Saved By The Bell. Today’s youth have to deal with the cast of Pretty Little Liars losing their virginity one week at a time to murder suspects and English teachers.

In the following post, Shana Lebowitz makes a good point that today’s twenty-somethings pretty much suck at safe sex and that we’re never too old to learn how to put a Magnum on a banana. If you ever found yourself relying on “pulling out” for your fool-proof method, this one’s for you: 20-Somethings Suck at Safe Sex

Leave a Reply

