By the Way…My Dreams Came True Last Week

Well one of many that is.  In case you’ve completely ignored my Instagram or have yet to believe in the power of Twitter, you may not be aware that in one of my many lives I am a complete sex ed junkie. I started out my professional career as a sexual health educator and ever since the first day I left work smelling of latex and explaining to my mom why my trunk is filled with condoms and a phallic teaching tool cleverly named, “Woody”, I’ve taken pride in being called “The Condom Lady”.  I get geeked off of perfect use vs. typical use rates and can discuss mutual masturbation like this morning’s episode of The Today Show.

One of the things I hope to accomplish with this silly writing dream of mine is as it states in any piece I sign my name to is to “help young women build their self-esteem and make well-informed choices about their sexual health”.  So being the vision-board making, “The Secret” reading idealist I am, I believe in the power of speaking (well in this case tweeting) things into existence.  A few months backs I tweeted my undying devotion to Bedsider, a site from the folks over at The Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy that focuses on sex-ed for adults in a completely not-lame way. Well apparently the Twitter Gods heard my prayer when I gushed about my dream job and what resulted was an opportunity to be posted on Bedsider’s Tumblr.  It’s cheesy but I am living proof in the amazing power of never being the one to tell yourself “no” and that every accomplishment starts with the decision to try.

Last week my first post in a series on sex in long term relationships went live.  It’s called “I Broke Up with My Birth Control” and is for any woman who’s ever gotten fed up with the bullshit that can come with falling in love with a birth control only to realize you can’t afford it.  Shout out to Bedsider, The Affordable Healthcare Act and my awesome sister for playing photographer for ten minutes!

I Broke Up With My Birth Control

Leave a Reply

