5 Life Lessons for Twentysomethings from Lorde’s Royals

Just heard this song the other night and finally understand why everyone is digging it. Besides the catchy beat, it’s the “Everyday Struggle” anthem for today’s twenty-somethings. I know I can relate to living off Chef Boyardee for lunch for months just to see J. Cole in concert, patching part-time jobs together since companies avoid providing health insurance like the plague, saying “Retirement huh?” because I barely make enough money to live now to think about saving for golden years and spending all day on the computer between my day job and blogging hoping I can make a name for myself so one day I can snag an enlightening yet terrifying interview with Kanye West.

Gen Y Girl breaks down why we all can relate to Lorde’s “Royals”.

Gen Y Girl

large

Today I’m thrilled to publish the following guest post written by Lisa Crocco. I’m a huge fan of Lorde, and I love how her music is something that we can all relate to. Have a great week everyone! Hope you like!

***************************************************************************************

If you haven’t heard the song “Royals” from Lorde (Ella Yelich-O’Connor)- the talented, sixteen year old from New Zealand, then you must not have turned on your radio for weeks. This catchy song has been sung, hummed, covered, and jammed to on repeat enough to hit the top of Billboard Hot 100 chart. Not only is the song super catchy, but its message is also powerful.

When we break down some of the lyrics we can see how Lorde wrote a song that is actually relevant to the majority of our lives.

‘I’m not proud of my address’

Unless your postal code is 90210 chances are at one…

View original post 481 more words

Leave a Reply

