There Is No Change With Out Challenge: Vision Board 2014

For the past few days I’ve been scrolling through statuses on my Facebook timelines anticipating the departure of 2013, but I must say I disagree.  2013 was pretty damn epic for me and I’m a little sad to see it go.  I may not have challenged myself as much as I wanted to, but the times I did, it paid off, even if it wasn’t exactly how I expected.

Inspired by blogger, Necole Bitchie, about three years ago I begin a New Year’s tradition of creating vision boards.  If you haven’t had a chance to connect to your inner, new-age mother earth, you may not know what the hell I’m referring to. A vision board is a collage of images that represent your dreams. It could be words, pictures, places, material things -all put together on a poster board (I do mine digitally via Publisher or Oprah’s  “O Dream Board”. )

The purpose of a vision board is to realize your future, and to activate the law of attraction and move from daydreaming to living your dreams.  You may have heard of “speaking things into existence”. The law of attraction believes that by simply believing in your goals and having the confidence to claim them out loud, those goals will find you.

Before I present to you what I hope to speak into existence for the new year, allow me to remind you of my vision board from last year.  My vision boards are usually a collection of quotes, pictures and intentions.  But the biggest thing: Ever since I began creating them, I’ve accomplished a majority of the goals I hope to each year.

Vision Board 2013

After I create a vision board, I make it my Facebook cover, my desktop background and my twitter cover; I put it anyplace I know I have to see on a daily basis. Vision boards subliminally help me to prioritize.  I saw the Toronto skyline every day when I logged in my computer, and was reminded daily that creating memories with my friends in places that I’ve always wanted to visit was more important than another pair of platform 5-inch heels. As a result I did less shopping and more site-seeing this past year. I focused my energy into the things that I reminded myself all year were important to me.  Before I knew it I was sitting seventh row at OVOFest in August having one of the most epic trips I’ve ever been on with my best friend.

Leave a Reply

