5 Ways To Make Your Vision Board Work

vision board

I was recently talking to a co-worker about vision boards and the law of attraction. After posting “Ready, Aim, Shoot: Vision Board 2015” the other day, it occurred to me that although I faithfully create and share my vision boards each year with my family, friends and readers, I don’t actually keep you all updated on my progress and why it is that I even continue to commit to this process every year and better still: Is it even working?

I first began doing vision boards in 2012 after I read a post on Necole Bitchie in which she shared some of the messages she took away from the ever so popular self-help book, “The Secret”. I remember her putting the law of attraction into practice which basically states if you think about the things in life you want to attract, eventually the rhythm of the universe will match that thought pattern and bring those things into your life. Necole says while driving in her little beat up car, she’d imagine it was a Benz or something. She replayed the thought enough that eventually she found herself behind the wheel of an E-Class sedan.

My first vision board had pictures of some of journalism idols like Lisa Ling and Oprah Winfrey, a new car, cities like Las Vegas and Toronto that I wanted to visit, and some artsy black and white yoga photos that represented strength, relaxation and balance. I posted the board as the cover page for my Facebook and Twitter, put it on the desktop of my computer, even made it the wallpaper on my phone. And by the end of 2013 I had grown as a writer being published on several different sites, purchased the car I wanted completely on my own, and managed to achieve a balance of resting just as hard as I worked.

2013’s board focused on investing into travel and experiences, broadening my circle of friends and associates and “not freelancing forever”. That year my blog grew, and I traveled to Vegas, New York and took my first trip to Toronto to what remains the best OVOFest I’ve ever witnessed (I’ve only been to two, but that first one was EPIC).

But here’s the thing. I don’t credit just going all Pinterest with my goals as to why I’ve been able to achieve most of the things I’ve wanted to and living the life I once only saw in my head. Being happy is about way more the googling some high definition photos and copying and pasting them to represent the deepest desires of your heart. Positivity is a lifestyle and it requires a whole lot more than reading a Joel Osteen book and posting some inspirational quotes on your Instagram. My husband makes fun of me all the time about how I float through life on this fluffy cloud of sunshine chauffeured by the Snuggles bear. But you know something? It takes a hell of a lot of strength to remain positive in this world and believe things can be better. In fact, that shit is harder to do than succumbing to the fact that we live in a world where people are now assassinated for their sense of humor and creativity.

With that said, if you’d like to take a chance and do things differently this year, you might want to try a vision board. I don’t read too deeply into the laws of attraction and I like I said I don’t give my vision boards more credit than they deserve, but what I will say is that by choosing to always make a way and focus on the positive, I’ve been able to thoroughly enjoy my life for the past few years. You can view my vision board here, but honestly all I really want is patio furniture…really nice patio furniture (I promise you I am not this boring since becoming a wife and mom).

Here are 5 ways to make your vision boards work at making you see the world differently.

Leave a Reply

